Flannel Friday — I’m the Biggest Thing In The Ocean

One of the first felt stories I made was I’m the Biggest Thing in The Ocean by Kevin Sherry.  It’s a pretty fun story and translates well onto the flannel board.  I used this one in my Same & Different / Opposites Family Storytime a while back and am sure to us it again.

I'm the Biggest Thing In the Ocean by Kevin Sherry

I used the template from Kidz Club. This site is a treasure trove of felt stories!  If you haven’t checked them out for some reason, I recommend you do so.  New templates are added semi-regularly so it’s always worth giving them another look from time to time.

I spent a while matching up the colours from the template with the illustrations in the book.   Was this necessary? Probably not but it seemed very important at the time. I had lots of fun adding details, like the turtle shells and the sparkly felt for the jellyfish, which unfortunately doesn't show that well in the photos.

I spent a while matching up the colours to the illustrations in the book. Was this necessary? Probably not but it seemed very important at the time.

 All the characters are backed on black felt except for the mondo-huge-o version of the whale that I made.

All the characters are backed on black felt except for the mondo-huge-o version of the whale that I made.

The giant sized whale allowed me to fit all the characters onto the whale to indicate that they had been swallowed.  Again, this seemed very important at the time. Yes, these are the things that keep me up at night!

The giant sized whale allowed me to fit all the characters onto the whale to indicate that they had been swallowed. Again, this seemed very important at the time. Yes, these are the things that keep me up at night!

One day, I would like to make a puppet and shadow puppet version like this awesome video from Salt Lake Public Library.  You know, once I figure out how to manipulate the squid puppet and all the shadow puppets at the same time since our storytimes are typically a one-person show…

This week’s Flannel Friday Round-up goodness can be found over on Libraryland.  Check it out!

2 thoughts on “Flannel Friday — I’m the Biggest Thing In The Ocean

Leave a Reply

